Errata #1 for Norw. intro to C++ programming

The Norwegian introduction to C++ programming (a bit Windows-specific) is at Google Docs, in PDF format, 3 chapters so far:

Introduksjon til C++-programmering (Windows)

Each file has a nice table of contents but for that you need to download the PDF and view it in e.g. Foxit or Adobe Acrobat. Ch 1 is just 1 page, though. Ch 2 is more pages. And so is ch 3.

Perhaps it’ll become a book…

Errata: I discovered that I’d badmouthed MinGW g++. I stated that it still didn’t support std::wostringstream & friends in version 4.1.1. That was incorrect.

The truth is that it didn’t support std::wostringstream & friends in version 3.4.5.

Now that is an old version, but it’s still the version that you get via the MinGW installer. To get a later version you can either download a build from Someone Else, such as the TDM build, or you can try to download the various individual package files from MinGW (I did that for version 4.5.0, it was a lot of work). So I guess an ordinary novice, the kind of person most likely to use MinGW g++, is mostly stuck with version 3.4.5.

Anyway, toolwise the intro is based on Visual C++ 10.0, and I have updated the ch 3 PDF at Google Docs so that it now says 3.4.5, not 4.4.1. 🙂

– Alf

2 comments on “Errata #1 for Norw. intro to C++ programming

    • Uhm, I don’t think I’ve ever given you a list. Anyway it’s mostly conventional languages. I started with Basic on an Intel 8080 computer (pre PC). Some 8080 assembly language. Calculator programming. Various Basic dialects, then various Pascal dialects at college, plus more assembly languages (x86, 6502, not sure about 6800, some student exercises in PDP-11 assembly), and PL/M-86, and a bit of Fortran. Summer jobs and at University it was mostly C, but at U they forced us to do some some Prolog and even COBOL, the latter on a Burroughs mainframe. Various DB query languages, I don’t remember their names. MC68000 assembly and Modula-2 on the Atari 1040. More Pascal and x86 assembly when I taught at vocational school. Also a “third generation” language, DB-oriented, I don’t remember. C and C++ and various *nix script languages when I taught at college (and more Pascal, it was my greatest success completely revamping their introductory programming course, from Nord-10 machines to PCs with Turbo Pascal). Also at this time the web gained popularity so HTML and CSS. As consultant, mostly C, C++ and Java, SQL, HTML and CSS, but also Visual Basic and such things. And the horrible Basic-like language in Lotus Notes. Ouch. Don’t remind me. Later on, C#, various XML based languages and JavaScript (like, Mozilla’s XUL, which I used for a pair of Thunderbird extensions), and of course keeping up on C++. And teaching myself some Python, just in order to teach others programming. I think it helps to have had experience with a diverse collection of languages.

      And, I’m still here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

